Who We Are

The Begun Center is currently made up of 52 individuals, including students and administrative support. Our faculty, researchers, and trainers are from a wide range of disciplines including psychology, education, social work, sociology, anthropology, and criminal justice. Senior faculty and researchers are nationally-recognized and well-cited scholars in the areas of juvenile justice, specialty courts, violence prevention, behavioral health, community-based research, and law enforcement.


Daniel J. Flannery, PhD
Mark Singer, PhD
Mark S. Fleisher, PhD
David L. Hussey, PhD
Jeff Kretschmar, PhD
Fredrick Butcher, PhD

Center for Innovative Practices

Richard Shepler, PhD, PCC-S, Director
Bobbi L. Beale, PsyD
Renne R. Dragomir, MEd, LPCC-S, IMFT-S, LICDC-CS
Michael Fox, MSSA, PCC-S, LCDC III
Maureen Kishna, MSSA, LISW-S
Pamela Mitterling, MEd, RN, LPCC-S, LSW, LICDC-CS

Senior Research Associates

Margaret Baughman, PhD
Karen Coen Flynn, PhD
Rachel Lovell, PhD
Misty Luminais, PhD
Michelle L. Riske-Morris, JD, PhD
Chris Stormann, PhD
Rodney Thomas, MA
Jane Timmons-Mitchell, PhD

Research Associates

Rebecca A. Bray, MSSA
Ashley M. Bukach, MPH
Sarah E. Fulton, MA
Angela K. Kavadas-Goldner, MPH
Duoduo Huang, MS
Laura T. Overman, MA, MEd
Krystel Tossone, PhD, Center Statistician
Tiffany M. Walker, MA

Research Assistants

Christine Gordon
Chase Klingenstein
Joanna Klingenstein
Sarah A. Limbacher
Maggie McGuire
David Rinderle
Sammy (Xinyi) Situ, LLM, MSSA
Madison Wheeler


Wendy Boerger, Department Administrator
Samantha L. Cocco, MA, Marketing, Communication, & Events Specialist
Patricia Ross Martin, Department Assistant, Center for Innovative Practices

Doctoral Candidates

Kristen Berg, MS
Seungjong Cho, MSW
Janelle Duda-Banwar, MSW
Wenxuan Huang, MGS
Tugba Olgac, MSSA
Greg Powers, MSc
Aviva Vincent, MSW
Liuhong Yang, MS
Dalhee Yoon, MSW

MSSA Candidates

Xiao Ding, John Halle, Katherine Lewis

Undergraduate Students

Julia Cedeno, Sierra Gray, Molly Moyer, Tori Scheidt, Shelby Shvorob